Welcome to our online peer support community. Connect with others making change in their alcohol and other drug use. Join our online community today.
  • Connect, be inspired, motivate others. Share your experience & strategies.
  • Safe. Anonymous. Professionally moderated. Free of judgement.

Join us Mondays at 8pm - 10pm AEST for Monday Meetup.

Please note: Your post will need to be approved by a team member, between 9am-9pm ADST. Your post will not appear straight away.
  • Relationships and Addiction!! Is it true what the majority say ??

For people making and maintaining change in their alcohol and other drug use. Connect here to share your story and gain motivation today.
    Junies

Relationships and Addiction!! Is it true what the majority say ??

Fri Nov 15, 2019 1:50 pm

I seem to be a super magnetised sucker for all that is bad/traumatic and painfully excruciatingly, ugly and vile, whilst walking this path of shadow dominated addiction. I’m a newbie to it all and for the most part feel way in over my head. Childishly, foolishly, ignorantly and unwisely wearing my heart upon my sleeve for the majority of my 32years and raised in a very different world I’m repeatedly knocked down, pulled down, walk right into repeated entrapments (sometimes by my own doing) and then wonder why I’m finding it harder and more painful to rise above, overcome and climb out of the deep pit that I’ve banished and sentenced myself to! Knowing at the same time “this is not who I am or who I was, What the flipping frick are you doing?”. I’ve limited so many relationships I’m pretty much down to two main supports which isn’t good, one my parent; the other a drug connection, semi long term, complicated situationship; which started off amazing a new and charming and exciting however whatever the circumstances surrounding the approx 2 week or month “honeymoon” phase was exchanged rapidly to a relationship that at my very core terrifies me, with all variables of apparent issues and ins